The Foundation has a dual structure granting operational autonomy to its bodies: the Supervisory Board exerts a role of direction and control, while the Management Committee carries out scientific and administrative affairs.


Human Technopole is a private foundation, founded by the Italian Ministry of Economy and Finance, the Italian Ministry of Health and the Italian Ministry for Education, University and Research. It is governed by the Italian civil code, by the law n. 232, 2016 (art. 1, comma 116) and by its Statue.

The scopes and activities of the Foundation are detailed in article 5 of the Statute:

 “The Foundation is committed to promoting the development of human technologies and long life, increasing public and private investments in research fields addressing prevention and health, in line with the National Research Program and developing a multidisciplinary and integrated approach to the disciplines of health, genomics, nutrition and data science and decisions, with particular regard to Human Technopole’s scientific and research project, in connection with universities and research institutions. The activity of the Foundation follows criteria of economy, effectiveness and publicity”. 

Statute (Italian only)



The President is the legal representative of the Foundation, serves as Chairman of the Supervisory Board, is responsible for strategic thrust and manages Institutional and Public relations; the individual promotes training and dissemination activities concerning the social and economic impact of the Foundation’s scientific research and public engagement.

Marco Simoni is the first President of the Foundation, nominated on 16 May 2018 with a decree of the Prime Minister of the Italian Government.

Marco Simoni is a political economist with experience in government and academia. He holds a degree in Political Science from La Sapienza University in Rome and a PhD in Political Economy from the London School of Economics.

He is currently the President of the Human Technopole Foundation, Italy’s new research center for Life Sciences based at the heart of MIND – Milan INnovation District, a broad project he has been following since its outset concerning the redevelopment of the area where Expo Milano took place in 2015.

Marco Simoni is an Adjunct Professor at Luiss Business School in Rome where he teaches on European Political Economy. From 2007 to 2016, he was a faculty member at the London School of Economics, where he also taught and researched in the same field, up to the title of Associate Professor.

Between 2014 and 2018 he was the Advisor to the Prime Minister of Italy on International Economic relations and Industrial Policy. He managed national and international policy and legislative dossiers, coordinating relevant ministries and public agencies. In his capacity he attended over 130 international bilateral meetings with head of governments or CEOs of multinational companies contributing the Prime Minister’s economic agenda.                     

Simoni is author of numerous scientific publications on comparative capitalism issues and he wrote a book on the crisis of Italian capitalism published in 2012 by Marsilio.

Supervisory Board

Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board guarantees the excellence of the Foundation, supervises the use of resources, and the compliance with the rules regarding the appointment of the Foundation bodies. It carries out general activities of direction and control over the Foundation.

The first seven members of the Board, including the President, were nominated with a decree of the Prime Minister of the Italian government on 16 May 2018.


Daniele Franco, Deputy Director General of Bank of Italy

Marco Mancini, Professor of Linguistics, "La Sapienza" University, Rome, former Chief Department at Ministry of Education, University and Research;

Mauro Marè, Professor of Public Economics, Luiss University, Rome

Marcella Panucci, Director General, Confindustria

Donatella Sciuto, Executive deputy Rector, Politecnico of Milano

Roberta Siliquini, Dean School of Public Health, Torino Italy, former President of the National Health Council, Ministry of Health;




The Director of the Foundation is responsible for the implementation of the multiyear strategic plan and chairs the Management Committee.

Iain Mattaj is the first Director of the Foundation, nominated on 18 June 2018 by the Supervisory Board on the outcome of an international competition.

Internationally renowned scientist, Professor Mattaj’s research over the years has given relevant contributions in the field of ribonucleoprotein (RNP) particles that function in the processing of messenger RNA precursors. From 2005 to 2018, he has been the Director General of the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), the European flagship laboratory for the life sciences, world-renowned for its outstanding research in molecular biology and for hosting a significant number of Nobel Prize winners over the last twenty years, including the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2017 for the cryo-EM.
Thanks to his outstanding results, Iain Mattaj has received many awards and honours.

Governance-Management Committee

Management Committee

The Management Committee guarantees the orderly progress and achievements of the Foundation. It manages scientific and administrative activity to allow the Foundation to reach its objectives and implements the strategic plan.

The members of the Management Committee include the Director and are professionals with proven managerial skills in important national institutions. They are chosen by the Supervisory Board.


Irene Bozzoni, Full Professor of molecular biology at “La Sapienza” University, Rome

Nando Minella, Economist, former Head of technical secretariat, Ministry of Education, Universities and Research

Stefano Piccolo, Full Professor of Molecular Biology at University of Padova

Fabio Terragni, President M4 S.p.A